Nominees Revealed for Inaugural Global Poker Awards

Nominees Revealed for Inaugural Global Poker Awards

Nominees Revealed for Inaugural Global Poker Awards

Table Of Contents

  • 2018 Global Poker Awards Nominees
  • Tournament Performance
  • Breakout Player
  • Streamer Of The Year
  • Vlogger Of The Year
  • Podcast
  • Broadcaster
  • Poker Journalist
  • Media Content
  • Industry Person
  • Tournament Director
  • Mid-Major Tour/Circuit
  • Event Of The Year
  • Moment Of The Year
  • Other Trophies to be Presented at the Global Poker Awards:

After announcing the event on March 8th, the Global Poker Index (GPI) has now announced the nominees for the inaugural Global Poker Awards.

The event, sponsored by PokerStars and broadcasted on PokerGO, will see a total of twenty trophies awarded during the ceremony on April 5th.

A nomination panel of over 130 members from around the globe has voted to determine this year’s official nominees in thirteen categories. A jury of industry representatives will select the winners.

More information about the awards can be found on

2018 Global Poker Awards Nominees

Justin Bonomo is nominated twice. His name is on the ballot for Tournament Performance of the Year for winning the Super High Roller Bowl IV for $5,000,000 and in the Moment of the Year category for completing the Super High Roller trifecta of SHRB China, SHRB IV, and the WSOP’s One Drop event.

Lex Veldhuis also finds his name on the list of nominees twice. He’s nominated in the category Streamer of the Year for his popular Twitch stream, and in the category ‘Broadcaster’ for his work during the 2018 PCA and Triton Poker events.

Poker media members Lance Bradley (in the Podcast category and Media Content) and Remko Rinkema (Podcast and Poker Journalist) are also nominated twice, and so is PokerNews‘ very own Sarah Herring, up for Podcast (PokerNews Podcast) and Poker Journalist of the Year.

Two Global Poker Award winners are already announced as Alex Foxen (GPI Player of the Year) and Kristen Bicknell (GPI Female Player of the Year) locked in their trophies at year’s end.

Here’s the full list of nominees:

Tournament Performance

  • Justin Bonomo (Super High Roller Bowl IV)
  • John Cynn (WSOP Main Event)
  • Maria Lampropulos (PCA Main Event)
  • Dylan Linde (WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic)

Breakout Player

  • Almedin “Ali” Imsirovic
  • Maria Konnikova
  • Ping Liu
  • Christopher Michael Soyza

Streamer Of The Year

  • Jeff Gross
  • Jason Somerville
  • Jaime Staples
  • Lex Veldhuis

Vlogger Of The Year

  • Marle Cordeiro
  • Joe Ingram
  • Andrew Neeme
  • Daniel Negreanu
  • Doug Polk


  • LFG Podcast (Chad Holloway, Jamie Kerstetter)
  • PokerCentral Podcast (Brent Hanks, Remko Rinkema)
  • PokerNews Podcast (Sarah Herring, Jeff Platt)
  • The Chip Race Poker Podcast (David Lappin, Dara O’Kearney)
  • The Fives a Podcast (Lance Bradley, Donnie Peters)


  • Maria Ho
  • Lon McEachern
  • Nick Schulman
  • Lex Veldhuis

Poker Journalist

  • Drew Amato
  • Sarah Herring
  • Remko Rinkema
  • Christian Zetzsche

Media Content

  • Drew Amato (photo: Brunson bids farewell to WSOP)
  • Lance Bradley (book: The Pursuit of Poker Success)
  • Haley Hintze (article: Vayo v. PokerStars)
  • PokerCentral/GO (Super High Roller Club: Schulman featuring Nejad)

Industry Person

  • Angelica Hael (World Poker Tour)
  • Cary Katz (Poker Central)
  • Matt Savage (WPT, TDA, more)
  • Ty Stewart (World Series of Poker)
  • Rob Yong (Dusk Till Dawn, partypoker)

Tournament Director

  • Tony Burns (Seminole Hard Rock)
  • Paul Campbell (ARIA)
  • Jack Effel (WSOP)
  • Kenny Halleart (Unibet Open)

Mid-Major Tour/Circuit

  • 888poker Live
  • RUNGOOD Poker Series
  • Unibet Open
  • WPTDeepStacks
  • WSOP Circuit

Event Of The Year

  • partypoker Caribbean Poker Party Main Event
  • Super High Roller Bowl IV
  • WPT Five Diamond World Poker Classic
  • WSOP Main Event

Moment Of The Year

  • Jeremy Hilsercop receives PSPC Platinum Pass (with help from Joe Ingram, Arlie Shaban,PokerStars and the poker community) as video of wife gifting him trip to WSOP on Christmas day goes viral
  • Joe Cada wins WSOP The Closer; registering for the event moments after remarkable 5thplace finish in WSOP Main Event
  • Doyle Brunson plays his final WSOP event
  • Justin Bonomo wins Big One for One Drop, completing Super High Roller Streak
    (SHRB China, SHRB IV, One Drop)

Other Trophies to be Presented at the Global Poker Awards:

  • 2018 GPI Poker Player of the Year (Alex Foxen)
  • 2018 GPI Female Player of the Year (Kristen Bicknell)
  • Award for Lifetime Achievement in Poker
  • Charitable Initiative
  • Jury Prize
  • PocketFives Legacy Award
  • People’s Choice Award for Poker Personality of the Year

The Stars Group owns a majority shareholding in iBus Media

Be sure to complete your PokerNews experience by checking out an overview of our mobile and tablet apps here. Stay on top of the poker world from your phone with our mobile iOS and Android app, or fire up our iPad app on your tablet. You can also update your own chip counts from poker tournaments around the world with MyStack on both Android and iOS.

  • Find out who’s nominated for a Global Poker Award.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.